A Message From the Director…


Welcome to the website of the Rutherford County Emergency Communications District/911. Acting through its Board of Directors, staff, and the E911 Public Safety Answering Points supported by the District, our mission is to provide the most reliable and efficient Enhanced 911 system possible to the public.


Since its creation by public referendum in 1986, the District has witnessed numerous changes in telecommunications technology and reacted to the effects of these changes on the delivery of E911 emergency services to the citizens of Rutherford County. As we enter our twenty-ninth year, it will be no different as we respond to new challenges such as Voice Over Internet Protocol and various E911 technology changes required for meeting the demands of the public’s increasing use of wireless communication devices.


This revamped website is another example of adapting to these changes by assisting you in accessing the most up to date E911 information available that could some day make a difference “when seconds count.” The links we are posting on this website represent leading professional associations as well as governmental agencies associated with E911 at the national and state level. 


Please check back often as we will be adding new features and capabilities in our continuing efforts to better inform and educate citizens about Enhanced 911.


Thank you for your interest in E911, and we welcome your comments or suggestions for improving this website.

Steve Smith, ENP—Director



Cassie Lowery, ENP—Assistant Director



Matt Lane-Operations Coordinator



Lynn West-Administrative Assistant







Board Of Directors

Admin: (615) 890-7550

(NOT a 24/7 dispatch center number)


Fax: (615) 896-2871


591 Fortress Boulevard

Murfreesboro, TN 37128-4129


Chief Glenn Chrisman

Murfreesboro Police Department



Chief Mike Walker

City Of Lavergne



John Hood




Mike Nunley, Director

Rutherford County Emergency Medical Services



Ernest Burgess, Rutherford County Mayor


Sheriff Robert Arnold

Rutherford County Sheriff’s Department


Chief Kevin Arnold

Smyrna Police Department


Chief Cumbey Gaines

Murfreesboro Fire Department


Chief Elijah Stuard

Eagleville Police Department








   Sign Up For Alerts with ALERT RUTHERFORD










Alert Rutherford - The County Emergency Notification System provides accurate, immediate emergency notifications from all jurisdictions within Rutherford County to your cell, work or home phone, via text, email or voice message. Receive notifications about emergencies that may affect your home, workplace, child's school, parents' home, or any other locations within Rutherford County.


· Weather Advisories for you or your family's home, business, school, child care, or more

· Infrastructure Issues including Power Outages, Water Shortages and more.

· Up-To-The-Minute Traffic Issues including accidents, closed roads, alternative routes and more



Click here to sign up today!




RCECD Board Of Directors Meeting Dates



Pursuant to T.C.A. 8-44-103, notice is hereby given that the Rutherford County Emergency Communications District Board of Directors will conduct their regularly scheduled meetings at 10:00 A.M. in the District’s Administrative Office located at 591 Fortress Boulevard, Murfreesboro, Tennessee on the following dates in 2015:


-Friday, April 17, 2015 


-Friday, June 19, 2015


-Friday, September 18, 2015


-Friday, December 11, 2015




If you are calling out of the area (out of county, state, etc.) to report an emergency within Rutherford County, please contact the appropriate PSAP in the jurisdiction where the emergency is located and not the Rutherford County ECD administrative number listed at the bottom of this pageThe following telephone numbers are answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.



Murfreesboro Police & Fire Communications—(615) 893-1311



Smyrna Police & Fire Communications  - (615) 459-6644



Lavergne Police Department — (615) 793-7744


Unincorporated areas of Rutherford County and Eagleville

Rutherford County Sheriff’s Department—(615) 898-7770



For medical emergencies, please contact the Rutherford County Emergency Medical Services Communications Center at (615) 896-2520



Thank you for your cooperation.